The welcoming supportive attitude by local and state elected officials toward commerce and industry has made the business development process very friendly and problem free to expanding and new businesses in Spearfish.

City of Spearfish

Since 1876, Spearfish has had an aldermanic form of government. The City is divided into three wards with two council persons from each ward. The Mayor and Council Members serve three year terms. Meetings are held on the first and third Mondays of each month in the Council Chambers at City Hall.

Spearfish City Council
& City Information
Mayor Dana Boke
Ward I Representatives Dan Hodgs / Marty Clark
Ward II Representatives Larry Klarenbeek / Doug Schmit
Ward III Representatives Pam Jacobs / John Lee
City Administrator Joe Neeb
Annual City Budget (2014) $30 Million
Total Number of City Employees 125
Comprehensive Master Plan Yes
City Zoning Yes
Building Code Utilized 2012 International Building Codes


Contact Info:  

City of Spearfish
625 N. 5th Street 
Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone: 605-642-1325


Lawrence County Commission

Lawrence County Commission

Chair/Commissioner at Large Brandon Flanagan
Vice Chair/Commissioner at Large Richard Sleep
Commissioner at Large Randall Rosenau
Commissioner at Large Daryl Johnson
Commissioner at Large Randy Deibert
Annual County Budget (2014) $16 Million
Total Number of County Employees 120
Comprehensive Master Plan Yes
County Zoning Yes
Building Code Utilized Yes/Starting in 2014
County Attorney/Admin. Asst. Bruce Outka


Contact Info:  

Lawrence County
90 Sherman St.
Deadwood, SD 57783
Phone: 605-578-1941


State Government

Dennis Daugaard (R)
Office of The Governor, 500 E Capital Ave, Pierre, SD 57501
(605) 773-3212


Senator Bob Ewing (R), District 31
P.O. Box 607, Spearfish, SD 57783
(605) 642-0965

Representative Chuck Turbiville (R), District 31
767 Main Street, Deadwood, SD  57732
(605) 920-1657

Representative Tim Johns (R), District 31
203 W. Main St., Lead, SD 57754
(605) 717-2889

Federal Government


John Thune (R)
United States Senate SD-511, Washington, DC 20510
Phone: (202) 224-2321
Regional Office:
1313 West Main St., Rapid City, SD 57701
(605) 348-7551

Tim Johnson (D)
136 Hart Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510
(202) 224-5842
Regional Office:
405 E. Omaha St., Rapid City, SD 57701
(605) 341-3990


Kristi Noem (R)
1323 Longworth House Office Building, Washington, DC 20515
(202) 225-2801

Regional Office:
343 Quincy St., Rapid City, SD 57701
(605) 791-4673